HELEN NEWTON TURNER MEDAL TRUST

The Helen Newton Turner Medal Trust was established in 1993 following an anonymous donation to the Animal Genetics and Breeding Unit.

The Helen Newton Turner Medal is awarded to provide encouragement and inspiration to those engaged in animal genetics. The Medal is named after Dr Helen Newton Turner whose career with CSIRO was dedicated to research into the genetic improvement of sheep for wool production. The Medallist is chosen by Trustees from the ranks of those persons who have made an outstanding contribution to genetic improvement of Australian livestock.

The first recipient of the Helen Newton Turner Medal in 1994 was Associate Professor John James, followed by Dr Laurie Piper in 1995. The recipient of the Medal is invited to deliver an Oration on a topical subject of his/her own choice. The oration of each of the two Medal recipients is reproduced in this proceedings. (Part 2)

Trustees of the Helen Newton Turner Medal Trust are:

- * Dr Kevin Sheridan, Director-General, NSW Agriculture (Chairman)
- Professor Stuart Barker, Senior Resident Fellow in Animal Science, University of New England
- * Dr Bill Gee, representing the National Farmers' Federation
- * Dr Scott Dolling, representing the Australian Association of Animal Breeding and Genetics (now Association for the Advancement of Animal Breeding and Genetics)
- * Dr Mike Goddard, Director, Animal Genetics and Breeding Unit, NSW Agriculture

MEDALISTS

1994 J. W. James 1995 L. R. Piper